3 down, 3 to go

We are heading home this evening after a week at my parents’ home in Minnesota.  I’m frantically trying to complete my residency applications: bugging my references to submit their reference forms, wondering why PhORCAS still hasn’t uploaded my MCPHS transcript, polishing 5 different versions of a letter of intent to keep each of the 6 programs to which I’m applying happy, and worrying that my applications will not be complete by the program deadlines.  The one piece of good news is that the program that I really want to match with has the latest application deadline, January 5th.

What I should really be worried about is how we will get all our Christmas presents home this evening.  Peter was adequately spoiled by his parents, grandparents, and great-grandfather.  He arrived in Minnesota with three toy train engines, a toy airplane, and a toy fueling truck.  He will be leaving with three additional toy train engines, four additional toy trucks, Playdough, and a Little People castle.  We are also hoping to bring home some new garments, an oversized children’s book that Son picked up from an antique store in Duluth, a set of bowls and serving dish, three pieces of wall art, some holiday candy, and two pounds of uncooked couscous.  Wish me luck as I attempt to cram all this into my carry-on luggage!

It has been a whirlwind holiday “break,” and I can’t say that I’m ready to start my next rotation on Thursday.  I haven’t contacted my preceptor yet, but I suppose that he won’t really be interested in hearing from me before tomorrow.  I also haven’t finished writing reflections from my last rotation.  As soon as the reflections worked their way to the top of my to-do list, I decided that my residency applications should take priority.  And now here I am, trying to write a summary of my last rotation and recap our week in Minnesota but unable to write anything insightful because I’m too worried about the week ahead.

Breathe.

Pack.

Alright, we should be able to get everything home with just four pieces of carry-on luggage.

Now let’s discuss my pediatrics rotation.  It was my favorite rotation thus far.  It was nice to be asked questions about topics that I was already very familiar with due to my experiences with Peter.  It was nice to see more than 10 patients on rounds each day.  It was nice to be able to interact with my preceptor for several hours most days of the rotation.  It was nice to be completing high-quality written work and have that work carefully assessed by an experienced preceptor.  I can’t hope to have as much preceptor interaction on my next 3 rotations as I had on my pediatrics rotation, but I do hope that I will be able to learn as much on my next rotations and contribute even more to the units where I am on rotation.  My only complaint about my pediatrics rotation would be that that interprofessional interaction on rounds was minimal, so I didn’t feel like I was making as big of an impact on patient care as I did on my first two rotations.

Once my rotation was complete, I had a week to prepare for Christmas.  I made bead ornaments again this year.  They were lovely but rather time-consuming to make.  I also made Russian tea-in-a-jar for my sister and pumpkin maple cinnamon nuts-in-a-jar for my brother.  Hopefully, they won’t starve when they move away for college next semester!

IMG_2031

Peter behaved well on the plane rides to Minnesota, especially when you consider the fact that he didn’t go to sleep until 9:30 p.m., woke up at 3:30 a.m., had to wait in the baggage check and security lines at the airport for a full hour, missed his original flight, took a flight to LaGuardia, and then finally took a second flight to Minneapolis.  He finally took a nap at 2:30 p.m. Central Time.

This trip was special because my grandfather made the trip to Minnesota from California, so he met a great grandchild for the first time.  (He has two other great grandchildren who he has never met.)  We met with some of Son’s old friends on December 23rd at Como Zoo and Conservatory.  Peter wasn’t a huge fan of the gardens, but he was a big fan of the sea lion.

IMG_2037

My father flew in on Christmas Eve.  We had salmon that night and a huge Thanksgiving-style turkey dinner on Christmas Day.  Peter was spoiled with presents, as mentioned previously.  The day after Christmas, we drove up to Duluth to meet with Son’s Master’s thesis advisor.  We spent the night at Fitger’s Inn, a lovely hotel with an even lovelier location on Duluth’s Lake Walk.  The next morning, we saw the Train Museum and Lake Superior Marine Museum before heading home.

DSCN0866

More needs to be said to wrap up 2013 and herald 2014, but I am determined not to miss my flight today, so I will have to post again on New Year’s Day.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

