One down, five to go.

Community pharmacy advanced pharmaceutical practice experience: check.

Next up: internal medicine.

Overall, my first rotation was a good experience.  I did find the first week at Baystate Medical Center a bit overwhelming, but the following weeks were not particularly stressful.  I gained a lot of confidence and experience in counseling patients on the mechanism of action and adverse effects of heart and vascular medications through the student-led  acute coronary syndrome and heart failure discharge counseling program.  It’s more difficult to identify precisely what I got out of the time I spent in the outpatient pharmacy, but no doubt it was helpful to gain more experience processing prescriptions, analyzing drug interactions, calling prescribers, and mock-verifying prescriptions.  I enjoyed the drug, disease state, and law reviews that we completed, and it was interesting to observe the efforts underway to expand the pharmacy through space remodeling, collaboration with various medical departments, and re-licensing from the limits of a “clinic” to the privileges of a fully-fledged retail pharmacy.

Supposedly, my next rotation will be more stressful.  For now, though, I am undaunted.  In my opinion, it’s a waste of energy to stress about something before it actually becomes a problem.  The students who completed this internal medicine rotation during the last block claim that they only got 3-4 hours of sleep each night, but I just can’t see myself sleeping that little.  I have never found it necessary to stay up that late to study since I received my BS, and I have difficulty imagining why I would need to limit my sleep in such a way now, during an APPE rotation.  My time management skills have only gotten better and better, right?

So instead of stressing, I’m actually looking forward to my internal medicine rotation.  It should be fun to participate as a member of a medical team and see patients on rounds.  It should be fun to participate in vancomycin monitoring.  And I can’t wait for SIMS lab.  I’m very optimistic that the upcoming rotation will be tuition dollars well-spent.

What else is new?

  • I finally submitted my review of medication-related falls in the elderly.  I should hear back from the editor in a couple weeks!
  • My proposal to develop caregiver educational materials on vaccination of preterm infants for parents and guardians of preemies in Baystate Medical Center’s NICU was warmly accepted.  Two other longitudinal APPE students and I will be submitting an abstract for a poster on this project at the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting.  We are now preparing to start drafting the educational materials.
  • I received the tabulated data from my spring directed studies research on ticagrelor and prasugrel prescribing, efficacy, and safety.  Another student and I prepared and an abstract for a poster on the adverse bleeding events associated with prasugrel or ticagrelor administration for the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting.
  • I was assigned to work with a PGY1 pharmacy resident on her retrospective study looking at outcomes for SICU and MICU patients admitted with pneumonia who had MRSA-positive cultures.  I’m looking forward to collecting data after we get IRB approval.

I suppose I shouldn’t expect other people to be half as excited about these new developments as I am, but may I just say that I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT ALL OF THIS!  Perhaps I truly am an academic at heart.  Data and Posters and Manuscripts, woo-hoo!

I also suspect that Peter may be an academic at heart.  We are way beyond just reading sight words now.  It’s not always easy to tell what’s going on in Peter’s brain, but it looks like he is starting to understand the basics of decoding words.  When we read library books together for the first time, he can “help” me by reading some of the words.  After that initial time reading the book, Peter reads most of the words himself; I just help him when he gets stuck on a word.  Granted, he is good at rote memorization, but I think it’s fair to say that there is some bona fide reading going on.

Now if only we could make some progress with potty training…  Tuesday marks the 3rd anniversary of Peter’s NICU discharge, and I was hoping that he would become more receptive to potty training as his fourth EDD approaches.  Do I need to be more pushy?  Offer more incentives?  Ask him to sit on the potty more often?  Ask Son to be more involved or show Peter how it’s done?

Peter had his three-year check-up at the end of August.  He weighed a whopping 29 lbs (+5 lbs since last year) and stood a stately 35 inches tall (up about 3 inches since last year) (I really thought that he had already hit 36 inches, though).IMG_1988 IMG_2001 IMG_2003 IMG_2007He really doesn’t look much different from how he looked last year, but it’s mind-boggling to think that this little boy who is now learning to read couldn’t even speak in complete sentences this time last year.  Have I mentioned how amazing kids are (preemies, especially)?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

