Welcome, 2013!

Son and I outdid ourselves yesterday, cooking a multi-course meal for 4 friends.  I should have taken photos before we ate last night, but remembering to take photos at timely occasions has never been my forte, so you’ll have to be satisfied with day-after photos and photos stolen from Google Images.

1) Smoked salmon and ricotta cheese on crackers with dill and capers.

P1030786

2) Makowiec (aka Polish poppy seed bread).  I was so delighted to find 8 oz containers of poppy seeds at the grocery store yesterday that I bought two of them and used one to make my favorite bread.

P1030789

3) Ham, white bean, and collard greens soup.  Very savory.

P1030796

4) Vietnamese egg rolls (or spring rolls, depending on the terminology you prefer).

5) Orange and pomegranate salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  (My lovely salad was not photographed before it became not-so-lovely, so here is the best approximation I could steal from Google Images.)

winter pomegranate salad

6)  Red curry with beef, chickpeas, carrot, and coconut.  Tastier than it looks, I promise.

P1030798

7)  Stir-fry chicken with carrot, snow peas, red bell pepper, Shiitake mushrooms, and cilantro.  (Here is another Google approximation.  The main difference is that Son used carrot and chicken rather than beef.)

8)  Tiramisu Anacapri, my favorite “light” tiramisu recipe.

P1030794

9) Sparkling cider.

We have an abundance of leftovers to take care of over the next couple days, but I’m not complaining.

2012 was not a terribly eventful year, and I’m grateful for that.  The highlights of our year were quick weekend excursions and visits with my family.  The lowlights were Peter’s mini-hospitalization for gastroenteritis and the December car accident drama.  Not too bad in the grand scheme of things.  I hope that 2013 will not be terribly eventful, either.  I need to focus on my studies and professional pursuits so that 2014 will be a happy year, the year that we become a two-income household again.  And hopefully, Peter will meet his Vietnamese relatives in 2014.  But now I’m getting ahead of myself.

Goals for 2013:  potty training and professional publications.

Peter used the toilet once two weeks ago.  He seemed to be quite proud of himself for getting his pee in his little potty, but he hasn’t shown much interest in his potty since then.  When asked whether he prefers to pee in his diapers or in his potty, he continues to answer, “poo poo in diapers.”  Now we have a goal to meet, though.  Diaper-free by 2014!

I have two manuscripts in progress. I was really hoping to finish editing and submit my medication-related falls manuscript before spring semester classes start, but my advisor has been sitting on the paper since October.  Time to send her another e-mail…

I know that the other manuscript, a review of delirium prevention, will be submitted in April because other people have a bigger stake in that manuscript than I do.

I’m starting a new directed studies project on the adverse events associated with the use of ticagrelor in the spring semester.  This project is unlikely to lead to a publication, but a poster would be nice.

I’m also thinking about presenting a clinical pearl at the Massachusetts Society of Health-System Pharmacists annual meeting in April.  I need to figure out how to do that, though.  Note to self: get in contact with Dr. Horton or Dr. Pesaturo.

If I can add those 4 things to my resume by the end of July, I think I’ll be in pretty good shape going into my final year of pharmacy school.

Also on the agenda: Packages for Preemies, take 2!  I’m hoping to incorporate a seminar on neonatal ICU pharmacy into the project this year.  Note to self: get in contact with Mehran and/or Dr. Pesaturo.  I also need to re-bind those 6 books that didn’t pass QC in October.

Predictions:

Hmm.  This one is not as easy as my 2011 and 2012 predictions.  Peter’s height and weight and head circumference are not nearly as interesting as they used to be now that we rarely visit his pediatrician.  I want to say that Peter will be reading by this time next year, given how much he learned in 2012, but that’s probably a bit presumptuous of me unless I, myself, commit to working with him a lot on reading skills, and I’m not sure I’ll have time for that.  I think I can safely predict that this is going to be a challenging year, and I will probably drive myself a little crazy as I make my last big push before the residency matching process and graduation.  Not as crazy as when I was applying to grad school, though, because now I have a husband and a son to help me keep things in perspective.  Like that annoying A- that I got in therapeutics last semester.  No big deal in the grand scheme of things.  (Right?)

Overall, though, I suppose that 2013 will be a lot like 2012.  Lots of studying, lots of toddler hugs, lots of fun.  And an occasional feast with good friends and family.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

