To realize the value of one month, ask a mother who gave birth to a premature baby.

One month ago, Peter Thien came home from the hospital weighing 5 lbs. 6 oz. Since then, he has gained three pounds.

Two months ago, Peter Thien was just beginning to take milk from breast and bottle. He now drinks about 24 oz. per day.

Three months ago, Peter Thien started taking enough milk during gavage feedings that he no longer needed a PICC line to meet his nutritional requirements. However, he still needed a nasal cannula to help him breathe.

Four months ago, I was 25 weeks pregnant and blissfully unaware that I would give birth in only a fortnight.

Five months ago, I was at the Registry of Deeds buying my first house.

Six months ago, I was competing at a ballroom competition.  It was the conclusion of a three-year affair with DanceSport.

Seven months ago, I learned that though one of my twins was alive and strong, the other had stopped developing.

Eight months ago, I was a graduate student at MIT working towards a PhD in organic chemistry. My morning sickness was making the smell of laboratory chemicals intolerable.

Nine months ago, I got a positive pregnancy test. At the time, I thought I was 5 weeks pregnant; I was actually only 3 weeks pregnant.

This entry was posted in Prematurity Awareness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To realize the value of one month, ask a mother who gave birth to a premature baby.

  1. MoDBev says:

    Thank you so much for joining the Fight for Preemies. I absolutely LOVE this post! The monthly theme really brings home how important each month is.

Leave a Reply

